My Hot Yoga Challenge

Anyone who knows me knows that I am not so great in the heat.  I mean, look at me I’m pale as can be!  But when  I get too hot in general or I’m out in the sun for a while, I start to feel nauseous and always feel exhausted afterwards.  Which brings me to hot yoga.  Whenever I mention that I do yoga, I would say a good 7 out of 10 times the person is like OH I LOVE HOT YOGA!  And then I follow with, NO NO, NOT HOT YOGA,  just normal yoga.”  🙂

I once had a substitute teacher who set the temperature to about 90 degrees and I was literally in childs pose about 50% of the class and I vowed never to do hot yoga again.  After my favorite yoga teacher left, of course someone took his place and he started to have medium hot yoga, which for me was tough, but after the first few times, you don’t feel the heat as much.  So as I built up my heat resistance, I knew it was time to take the next step, which for me was a big one!  HOT YOGA!

Lately I’ve been in the ‘challenging myself’ mode, so my challenge #2 is hot yoga, behind challenge #1, my blog.  As you have read, yoga has challenged me both mentally and physically, and in the past year and a half I can see the progress in both.  I had heard about a teacher that is typically has a pretty difficult hot yoga class.  So I figured, why not, lets do this!!!  Yesterday was the day!  I literally went into the class feeling a bit defeated given my last hot yoga experience, but I DID IT!  I would say even though I was dripping sweat by the end, I completed the class and didn’t even have to sit in childs pose!  🙂  This might seem like such a small success to most people, but to me it displays how far I have come!  Just as I said before, we have to celebrate the small successes! Going forward, I think I’m going to challenge myself to do one hot yoga class a week.    One challenge down, a million more to go!

What is one of your personal challenges?  Post in the comments!  🙂

 

2 Comments

  1. No

    One goal for me is to talk to family whenever I can… I usually try to call or visit family but I want to make it a main priority because it’s Important to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

