Turning Four

The other day I came home to this:

shoes

Yes everyone, that is what you think it is.  My cute Steve Madden shoes.  And these were not the only ones that have suffered the wrath of my sweet little Toby.

The day after I adopted Toby, I walked in the door, after just buying him a new water bowl and some treats, and was so excited to go out and walk him in the neighborhood.  As I opened the door, I saw the WRATH of my little Toby.  RED PAINT ALL OVER THE SOFA.  Now, this red paint might not mean a lot to some of you, but to myself, who was a shoe department manager at Nordstrom in my previous life, this was a huge red flag.  As a walked a little closer, I saw my Christian Louboutin shoes, shredded to pieces.  These, along with my Prada, and Cole Haan flats, were victims #2 and #3.   And as of recent, my Steve Maddens’ were victim #4.  Don’t get me wrong, I cried (yes I know that is ridiculous), about my shoes, but even with these small losses, it is no comparison to what I have gained.

My ex and I were living together and I was itching to get a dog, more specifically I wanted a corgi named Toby.  Everyday for months I would look on the SPCA of Dallas website, and I finally came across a picture that literally just said, “corgi“, on it with no actual photo of the dog.  The next day, at 11:00am I was anxiously waiting at the front doors of the SPCA to see Toby, AKA Jacko in his previous life.  And as soon as his little white socks walked in the door I knew he was something special.  

March 28, 2014 was a very momentous day in my life.  It was the day that I adopted my little boy, Toby.

toby post

The past two and a half years have been filled with highs and lows, and I can honestly say Toby has played a huge role in my happiness.  He makes me smile when I’m down, cuddles with me every morning, he is always by my side (and I mean always) and is truly my best friend.

Owning a dog isn’t easy.  It’s a responsibility, and now being single, it’s definitely a lot bigger of a commitment than some are willing to take on.  But, I will say that even through the chewed up shoes/pillows, slobber, and dog fur, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Happy 4th (28th in dog years) birthday to my little love, Toby.  Your big head, stumpy legs, and white socks never cease to put a smile on my face! 🙂

IMG_9409

To check out dogs that are up for adoption visit your local shelter or go to SPCA for more information.

toby 1

Leave a Reply

